Event Reports

BSE Dragons Volleyball Year 7 Girls Win State Championship Title

MSAC host School Sport Victoria State Finals Volleyball Championships, November, 26th.  The State Finals bring together top 8 teams in Victoria; a great effort for our three Dragon teams.

Year 7 Girls:

The Year 7 Girls win a State Volleyball Championship after a day that saw their confidence and skills grow.  Coach Paul Malloy was extremely proud of the way the squad conducted themselves.

In the pool rounds, the girls played Rowville Secondary & Wodonga Secondary, scoring easy wins.  They then played Wonthaggi Secondary and were narrowly defeated, finishing up 2nd in the pool.  The team played against Hume Central in the First Semi Final.  The girls were strong and consistent with their hitting, resulting in a win and earned them a place in the Grand Final.

In the Grand Final the BSE Dragons played Maribyrnong Sports Academy where they were super cool, listened to their coach and out played Maribyrnong to WIN the STATE TITLE in 2 straight sets.

TEAM MEMBERS:  Hannah Lewon (Captain), Maya Van Es, Paris Matthews, Talitha Alexander, Chloe De Salvo, Emily Mannix, Jana Danes, Indyah Royle, Darian King, Lyn Wu. Coach Paul Malloy.

Year 7 Boys:
The boys won against Galen College Wangarratta but then lost against Maffra Secondary and Eltham College.  All team members skills improved throughout the day and a special thanks to our Students coaches, Eliza Turley and Maddie Kirkwood.

TEAM MEMBERS:  Alex Chitlong, Bailey McIntosh, Gideon, Luatutu, Cody Skipper, Connor Byrne, Harry Lomas, Tarran Kilcullen, Jack Ryan.

Year 8 Boys:
The team started out with a tough match first up against Rowville, but they performed well against the eventual winners.  The Dragons had a win against Galen College, Wangaratta, and then another loss against Lakes Entrance after a tight 3rd set decider.

TEAM MEMBERS:  Tynan O'Grady, Sam Heritage, Jye Strauss, Rueben Monteith, Sam Van Dalen, Cale McCloud, Alex McCluskey Connor McCloud.  Special thanks to coach, Lachlan Walker for all the time and effort he put into the team.